Online lecture via Zoom:  


“Thai Noblemen and Modern Bureaucrats
in the late 19th century and early 20th century”

by Dr. Yaninie Phaithayawat

on Friday, 5 May 14-16 Uhr (CEST)
Invitation letter as PDF

Für eine Übersicht über bereits zurück liegende Vorträge und Veranstaltungen
schauen Sie in diese Liste oder in unser Archiv.

For an overview of past presentations and activities
please look into this compilation or into our archive.
Das Asien-Afrika-Institut, Aussenfassade


Welcome to the Department of Languages and Cultures of Southeast Asia at the Asia-Africa Institute, University of Hamburg.

– Headquarters of the Hamburger Gesellschaft für Thaiistik e.V. (HGT)

The Department of Languages and Cultures of Southeast Asia was founded in 2005 when the former Department of Indonesian and Pacific Languages merged with the Department of Thai and Vietnamese Studies.

You find here more up-to-date information about the history of Thai Studies (Thaiistik) and the structure and activities of the Asia-Africa Institute. Detailed information about the BA and MA curricula of Thai Studies can be found under the menu item Thai Studies.

In our archive you find further information, in chronological order, about the HGT and previous activities. If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are happy to help you and provide all kinds of service.

You might also want to visit our Facebook page to always be up to date with the latest events organized by the HGT.

The Association

The Hamburger Gesellschaft für Thaiistik e.V. aims to support Thai Studies at the University of Hamburg in every possible way, for example by aquiring and providing material and funding or by publishing results of scientific research about traditional and contemporary Thailand.

We organize presantations and symposiums and contribute to the library of the Asian-Africa-Institut with books, often directly bought in Thailand.

The association is non-profit making.

Das Asien-Afrika-Institut, Foyer

PDF Download PDF Documents

The board members

Prof. Dr. Volker Grabowsky, Pannarai Büchmann, Dr. Silpsupa Jaengsawang, Natthaly Natschke, Pantipa Chuenchat